" "

Billionaire Gautam Adani receives Rs 9.26 crore salary in FY24, lower than his executives, industry peers

Jaya Vishwakarma
Updated On
New Update
Gautam Adani

Gautam Adani

India's second-richest person, Gautam Adani, received a total remuneration of Rs 9.26 crore in the fiscal year ending March 31, 2024. Notably, Adani drew salaries only from 2 out of the 10 listed companies in his ports-to-energy conglomerate.

From Adani Enterprises, his compensation package for 2023-24 included a salary of Rs 2.19 crore, along with perquisites, allowances, and other benefits totalling Rs 27 lakh. Additionally, he received Rs 6.8 crore from Adani Ports and SEZ Ltd (APSEZ).

Interestingly, Adani's salary was lower than that of his executives and industry peers, such as Airtel's Sunil Bharti Mittal and Rajiv Bajaj.

In comparison, the remuneration of other industry leaders was significantly higher: Sunil Bharti Mittal received Rs 16.7 crore in 2022-23, Rajiv Bajaj earned Rs 53.7 crore, Pawan Munjal received Rs 80 crore, and both the L&T Chairman S.N. Subrahmanyan and Infosys CEO Salil S. Parekh were also noted for their high earnings.


Adani's younger brother, Rajesh, earned Rs 8.37 crore, which included a Rs 4.71 crore commission on profits from Adani Enterprises Ltd (AEL), while his nephew, Pranav Adani, took home Rs 6.46 crore, including a Rs 4.5 crore commission. His son, Karan earned Rs 3.9 crore from APSEZ.

Gautam Adani did not receive any commission from AEL but obtained a Rs 5 crore commission from APSEZ. This latter remuneration from APSEZ included a Rs 1.8 crore salary and a Rs 5 crore commission that is due for payment in the 2024-25 fiscal year, as per the company’s annual report.

Vinay Prakash, a key executive and director on the AEL board, received a total remuneration of Rs 89.37 crore. Group CFO Jugeshinder Singh received a salary of Rs 9.45 crore.

Vneet S. Jaain, CEO of the group's renewable energy firm Adani Green Energy Ltd, was paid Rs 15.25 crore, while Suresh P. Manglani, CEO of Adani Total Gas Ltd (ATGL), earned Rs 6.88 crore. Angshu Mallick, CEO of Adani Wilmar, received Rs 5.15 crore. Lastly, S B Khyalia, CEO of Adani Power, got Rs 5.63 crore.